IndabaX Award Ceremony

KWALUSENI – The Eswatini Fintech Working Group (EFWG) held the IndabaX Award Ceremony on Thursday 9 November 2023 at the Institute of Distance Education Lecture Theatre at 2pm. The EFWG comprises of the University of Eswatini, Centre for Financial Inclusion, the Central Bank of Eswatini, Eswatini Communications Commission, Eswatini Revenue Authority, the Financial Services Regulatory Authority and Royal Science Technology Park. Representatives of the EFWG member groups took turns in making speeches encouraging the youth and the country in pursuing excellence in issues pertaining to technological advancement and machine learning.

The Prizes were awarded as follows:

Poster Presentation

First Prize:                   Ngwenya Sifiso                                  E15,000

Second Prize:              Magagula Khanyisile                          E10,000

Third Prize:                 Chidinma Chukwu                              E5,000


First Prize:                   Mayibongwe Mahlalela                       E25,000

Second Prize:              Lunga Ndzimandze                            E15,000

Third Prize:                 Thandokuhle Msane                            E 10,000

The winners were given an opportunity to appreciate the sponsors.  In their brief speeches, they remarked thus:

Poster Presentation

Ngwenya Sifiso mentioned that he was a recent graduate from the Faculty of Social Sciences with majors in Economics and Statistics.  He was incredibly honoured and humbled to have emerged as the overall winner.  He appreciated the sponsors and mentioned that winning was testament of hard work. Mr Ngwenya appreciated his lecturer Mr Sidumo Masango for the encouragement and thanked the Department of Computer Science for them to participate as they also do machine learning. He concluded by congratulating all participants and that he learnt a lot from them.

Khanyisile Magagula said she was still surprised that she had won. She thanked God, her lecturer and her friends including Chidinma for the support.

Chidima Chukwu a Fourth Year Bachelor of Science in Information Technology student thanked the University for the opportunity and her lecturers for the role they played in making her succeed.  She then encouraged her colleagues to join future challenges.


Mayibongwe Mahlalela, a second time overall winner of the Hackathon , Bachelor of Science in Information Technology at the University of Eswatini mention how proud he was to be the winner once again.  He appreciated all the contestants and mentioned that during the competition he saw the display of talent and creativity from all participants and noted that there was immense potential in the Eswatini Youth.

Lunga Ndzimandze, a part-time student at the University of Eswatini thanked and appreciated all sponsors and partners for making the competition possible.  It was his third attempt and had learnt a lot from the competition.  He encouraged participants to keep trying and never give up.  He encouraged his colleagues to try other knowledge competitions presented by Zindi.

Thandokuhle Msane a sophomore student at the University of Eswatini passed sincere gratitude to the sponsors and organisers of the Hackathon.  He also congratulated the other winners. He also advocated for growth of machine learning in Eswatini and encouraged all Emaswati in their different sectors to unlock the full potential of machine learning for the betterment of the country.

Representatives of member organisations of EFWG who spoke during the event included in the order of their speeches;

Mr. Abahle Thwala, Acting Librarian – representing the Vice Chancellor, UNESWA,

Mr. Madoda Nxumalo, representing the Dean of Science and Engineering, UNESWA,

Mr. Mbongiseni Nkambule, representing the Financial Services Regulatory Authority,

Mr. Mlungisi Vilakazi, representing Eswatini Revenue Services,

Dr. Stephen Fashoto, representing Zindi,

Ms Lindiwe Dlamini, representing Eswatini Communications Commission, and

Ms Linda Dlamini, representing The Central Bank of Eswatini.

The Programme Director was Mr James Manyatsi from the Centre of Financial Inclusion.